Press "Enter" to skip to content

KYANKWANZI: NRM to Track Performance of MPs

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) has designed a mechanism to track the performance of its Members of Parliament.

The development was revealed on Thursday by the Government Chief Whip Hon Ruth Nankabirwa Ssentamu at the ongoing party Caucus retreat at National Leadership Institute in Kyankwanzi.

Nankabirwa, who also represents the women of Kiboga district in Parliament and is a member of the Central Executive Committee (CEC) stated that the party leadership is soon going to brainstorm on the matter with chairpersons of all committees under the supervision of the ruling party.

“These will be discussed in much more detail during our next meeting with the Committee Chairpersons after issuing them with copies for internalization,” she said.

Nankabirwa commended the NRM MPs, who are the significant majority, for their active participation during plenary and committee sittings.

She outlined the 14 Bills passed by MPs in the last session of Parliament including the contentious presidential amendment Bill.

  1. The Constitution Amendment Bill, 20017
  2. The African Export-Import Bank Agreements Bill, 2018
  3. The Appropriation Bill, 2018
  4. The Exercise Duty (Amendment) Bill, 2018
  5. The Income Tax Bill, 2018
  6. The Data Protection & Privacy Bill, 2015
  7. The Civil Aviation Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2017
  8. The Cooperative Societies (Amendment) Bill, 2016
  9. The Human Rights (Enforcement) Bill, 2015
  10. The mental Health Bill, 2014.

The Bills not yet assented to by the President include; The Uganda Wildlife Bill 2017, The Sugar Bill 2016, The Minimum Wages Bill 2015 and the National Biotechnology Bill 2012.

READ  Kamuli mayor, speaker want town clerk sacked over incompetence


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply